The Drs. Peter and Marlene MacLeish Endowed Lectureship

Drs. Peter and Marlene MacLeish Endowed Lectureship

Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM) proudly announced the establishment of the Drs. Peter and Marlene MacLeish Endowed Lectureship in March 2018, recognizing MSM’s commitment to supporting neuroscience and to celebrate the contributions Peter and Marlene have made to advance education and scientific research at MSM. 

The Drs. Peter and Marlene MacLeish Endowed Lectureship Series is a Morehouse School of Medicine (MSM) event established to:

  • Recognize and celebrate the contribution of basic science, particularly neuroscience, to Morehouse School of Medicine,
  • Invigorate and inspire students and junior faculty, and
  • Inform the general public about advances in biomedical science and its impact on health.

The lectureship was established in 2017, thanks to initial funding gifts from Dr. Zach Hall, Former Director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, his wife Julie Ann Giacobassi and Dr. Torsten Wiesel, Nobel Laureate and President Emeritus of The Rockefeller University. 

Save the Date!

Mark your calendars for the 2nd Annual Drs. Peter and Marlene MacLeish Endowed Lectureship lectures Wednesday March 27 – Thursday March 28, 2019. This year's lecturer is Dr. Emery Brown, Ph.D, M.D., the Edward Hood Taplin Professor of Medical Engineering and of Computational Neuroscience and Professor of Health Sciences and Technology at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Learn more about Dr. Brown here.

The Inaugural Lectures

The inaugural Drs. Peter and Marlene MacLeish Endowed Lectureship Lectures were held on Tuesday, March 27, 2018. Nobel Prize winner Martin Chalfie, Ph.D., co-recipient of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the introduction of GFP as a biological marker. He is also a university professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Columbia University.  Learn more and watch the recorded lectures here.

About Drs. Peter and Marlene MacLeish

  • Marlene MacLeish, Ed.D.

    Marlene MacLeish, Ed.D., was recruited to MSM in 1995, as an internationally known spokeswoman for science education and health disparities research. She has published widely on STEM education and served in many leadership roles to advance science education.

    • Published The Brain in Space: A Teacher’s Guide with Activities for Neuroscience.
    • Served as the executive producer of a six-part radio series, Biomedical Science for Space Travelers, and a documentary film, Exploring Two Frontiers: The Brain in Space, which aired on Public Broadcasting Services-USA.
    • Served on many boards, including the Board of Trustees of the International Academy of Aeronautics: France; Emory University Board of Visitors, the National Science, Engineering, Mathematics and Aerospace Academy Advisory Board, and the Fernbank Science Center - Space Station Advisory Committee.
    • Earned the Doctor of Laws, honoris causa (LL.D.) from the University of Western Ontario, Canada; The Woman of Distinction Award, Brescia College, Canada; there is also a Dr. Marlene MacLeish Endowment Fund by The Congress of Black Women of Canada in London, Canada.
  • Peter MacLeish, Ph.D.

    Peter MacLeish, Ph.D., was also recruited to MSM in 1995 and subsequently honored as the George H.W. and Barbara Bush Professor of Neuroscience. He is a member of the National Academy of Medicine, where he is a Section Chair and a former member of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Council and of the Advisory Committee to the Director of NIH. Additionally, he was a member of NIH Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) working group. Most notably, his arrival at MSM marked the establishment of the Neuroscience Institute.

    Under Dr. Peter MacLeish’s leadership as the first Director of the Neuroscience Institute:

    • Institute faculty members have received a total of 69 awards, including 50 NIH awards, totaling $77.6 million.
    • Morehouse School of Medicine established a Department of Neurobiology.
    • The Specialized Neuroscience Research Program was expanded with a U54 award from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) to support neuroscience programs at other minority institutions.
    • The Neuroscience Institute implemented a degree program in collaboration with Morehouse College, Spelman College and Clark Atlanta University giving undergraduate students the opportunity to obtain a B.S./M.S. within 5 years of starting their undergraduate programs.