2018-2019 Academic Calendars


Medical Degree (MD) – First Year Students

Fall Semester 2018 Academic Calendar

Orientation (8:30am)

Thurs. Jun. 28 – Fri. Jun. 29, 2018

Fall 2018 Semester Classes Begins

Mon. Jul. 2, 2018

Independence Day Holiday

Wed. Jul. 4, 2018

Labor Day Holiday

Mon. Sept. 3, 2018

Constitution Day

Mon. Sept. 17, 2018

Fall Convocation, White Coat & Pinning Ceremony

Fri. Sept. 21, 2018

Thanksgiving Break

Wed. Nov. 21 – Sun. Nov. 25, 2018

End of Semester Exams

Wed. Dec. 19, 2018

Winter Break

Thurs. Dec. 20, 2018 – Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

Spring Semester 2019 Calendar

New Year’s Holidays

Mon. Dec. 31, 2018 – Tues. Jan 1, 2019

Spring 2019 Semester Classes Begins

Wed. Jan. 2, 2019

M. L. King, Jr. Holiday

Mon. Jan. 21, 2019

Research Day

Wed. Feb 13, 2019

Match Day

Fri. Mar. 15, 2019

Spring Break

Mon. Mar. 18 – Fri. Mar. 22, 2019

Good Friday Holiday

Fri. Apr. 19, 2019

Last Day of Class/ Exams

Fri. May 24, 2019

Grade Posting Period

Mon. May 27- Fri. 31, 2019

Fall Semester 2018 Academic Calendar


Medical Degree (MD) – Second Year Students

Fall Semester 2018 Academic Calendar

Orientation (9:00am)

Mon. Aug. 13, 2018

Fall 2018 Semester Classes Begins

Tues. Aug. 14, 2018

Labor Day Holiday

Mon. Sept. 3, 2018

Constitution Day

Mon. Sept. 17, 2018

Fall Convocation, White Coat & Pinning Ceremony

Fri. Sept. 21, 2018

Thanksgiving Break

Wed. Nov. 21 – Sun. Nov. 25, 2018

Winter Break

Wed. Dec. 19, 2018 – Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

Spring Semester 2019 Academic Calendar

New Year’s Holidays

Mon. Dec. 31, 2018 - Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

Spring 2019 Semester Classes Begins

Wed. Jan. 2, 2019

M. L. King, Jr. Holiday

Mon. Jan. 21, 2019

Research Day

Wed. Feb. 13, 2019

Match Day

Fri. Mar. 15, 2019

Spring Break

Mon. Mar. 18 – Fri. Mar. 22, 2019

Good Friday Holiday

Fri. Apr. 19, 2019

Last Day of Class/ Exams

Fri. May 17, 2019

Deadline for USMLE Step I Exam

Sun. June 30, 2019


Medical Degree (MD) – Third Year Students

Fall Semester 2018 Academic Calendar

Orientation (9:00am)

Mon. Jul. 2, 2018

Student Clinician Ceremony (6:30pm)

Mon. Jul. 2, 2018

Fall 2018 Semester Classes Begins

Tues. Jul 3, 2018

Independence Day Holiday

Wed. Jul. 4, 2018

Labor Day Holiday

Mon. Sept. 3, 2018

Constitution Day

Mon. Sept. 17, 2018

Fall Convocation, White Coat & Pinning Ceremony

Fri. Sept. 21, 2018

Thanksgiving Break

Wed. Nov. 21 @ 5:00pm – Sun. Nov. 25, 2018

Winter Break

Sat. Dec. 15, 2018 – Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

Spring Semester 2019 Academic Calendar

New Year’s Holidays

Mon. Dec. 31, 2018 – Tues. Jan 1, 2019

Spring Semester Classes Begins

Wed. Jan. 2, 2019

M. L. King, Jr. Holiday

Mon. Jan. 21, 2019

Match Day

Fri. Mar. 15, 2019

Career Day in Medicine Workshops

Sat. Mar. 16, 2019

Spring Break, Good Friday, Easter

Fri. Apr. 19 – Sun. Apr. 21, 2019

Memorial Day Holiday

Mon. May 27, 2019

Clinical Comprehensive

Sat. Jun. 1, 2019

Last day of classes

Fri. Jun. 14, 2019


Medical Degree (MD) – Fourth Year Students

Fall Semester 2018 Academic Calendar

Orientation (1:30pm)

Fri. Jun. 15, 2018

Rotation I

Mon. Jul. 2 – Fri. Jul. 27, 2018

Rotation II

Mon. Jul. 30 – Fri. Aug. 24, 2018

Rotation III

Mon. Aug. 27 – Fri. Sept. 21, 2018

Labor Day Holiday

Mon. Sept. 3, 2018

Constitution Day

Mon. Sept. 17, 2018

Fall Convocation, White Coat & Pinning Ceremony

Fri. Sept. 21, 2018

Rotation IV

Mon. Sept. 24 – Fri. Oct. 19, 2018

Rotation V

Mon. Oct. 22 – Fri. Nov. 16, 2018

Rotation VI

Mon. Nov. 19 – Fri. Dec. 14, 2018

Thanksgiving Break

Wed. Nov. 21 @ 5:00pm – Sun. Nov. 25, 2018

Application for Graduation Deadline (May 2019 Graduates)

Fri. Dec. 7, 2018

Winter Break

Sat. Dec. 15, 2018 – Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

December 2018 Degree Conferral Date

December 31, 2018

Spring Semester 2019 Academic Calendar

New Year’s Holidays

Mon. Dec. 31, 2018 – Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

Rotation VII

Wed. Jan 2 – Fri. Jan. 25, 2019

M. L. King, Jr. Holiday

Mon. Jan. 21, 2019

Rotation VIII

Mon. Jan. 28 – Fri. Feb. 22, 2019

Rotation IX

Mon. Feb. 25 – Fri. Mar. 22, 2019

Match Day

Fri. Mar. 15, 2019

Rotation X

Mon. Mar. 25 – Thurs. Apr. 18, 2019

Spring Break, Good Friday, Easter

Fri. Apr. 19, 2019 - Sun. Apr. 21, 2019

Rotation XI

Mon. Apr. 22 – Fri. May 17, 2019

Commencement Rehearsal (12 Noon)

Wed. May 15, 2019

Class Day Program

Fri. May 17, 2019

Commencement

Sat. May 18, 2019

May 2019 Degree Conferral Date

May 18, 2019


Dates for individual 3rd year rotations are as follows:

12 Week Rotation Schedule

  • Tues. Jul. 3 - Fri. Sept. 21, 2018
  • Mon. Sept 24 - Fri. Dec. 14, 2018
  • Winter Break- Sat. Dec. 15, 2018- Tues. Jan. 1, 2019
  • Wed. Jan. 2 - Fri. Mar. 22, 2019
  • Mon. Mar. 25 - Fri. Jun. 14, 2019
  • Spring Break, Good Friday, Easter – Fri. Apr. 19 – Sun. Apr 21, 2019

8 Week Rotation Schedule

  • Tues. Jul. 3 - Fri. Aug. 24, 2018
  • Mon. Aug. 27 - Fri. Oct. 19, 2018
  • Mon. Oct. 22 - Fri. Dec. 14, 2018
  • Winter Break- Sat. Dec. 15, 2018 - Tues. Jan. 1, 2019
  • Wed. Jan. 2 - Fri. Feb 22, 2019
  • Mon. Feb. 25 - Thurs. Apr. 18, 2019
  • Spring Break, Good Friday, Easter – Fri. Apr. 19 – Sun. Apr 21, 2019
  • Mon. Apr. 22 - Fri. Jun. 14, 2019

6 Week Rotation Schedule

  • Tues. Jul. 3 - Fri. Aug. 10, 2018
  • Mon. Aug. 13 - Fri. Sept. 21, 2018
  • Mon. Sept. 24 - Fri. Nov. 2, 2018
  • Mon. Nov. 5 - Fri. Dec. 14, 2018
  • Winter Break- Sat. Dec. 15, 2018- Tues. Jan. 1, 2019
  • Wed. Jan. 2 - Fri. Feb. 8, 2019
  • Mon. Feb. 11 - Fri. Mar. 22, 2019
  • Mon. Mar. 25 - Fri. May 3, 2019
  • Spring Break, Good Friday, Easter – Fri. Apr. 19 – Sun. Apr 21, 2019
  • Mon. May 6 - Fri. Jun. 14, 2019

Dates for individual 4th year electives are as follows:

4 Week Clinical Elective Schedule

  • Mon. Jul. 2 - Fri. Jul. 27, 2018
  • Mon. Jul. 30 - Fri. Aug. 24, 2018
  • Mon. Aug. 27 - Fri. Sept. 21, 2018
  • Mon. Sept. 24 - Fri. Oct. 19, 2018
  • Mon. Oct. 22 – Fri. Nov. 16, 2018
  • Mon. Nov. 19 – Fri. Dec. 14, 2018
  • Winter Break – Sat. Dec. 15, 2018- Tues. Jan. 1, 2019
  • Wed. Jan. 2 – Fri. Jan. 25, 2019
  • Mon. Jan. 28 - Fri. Feb. 22, 2019
  • Mon. Feb. 25 - Fri. Mar. 22, 2019
  • Mon. Mar. 25 - Thurs. Apr. 18, 2019
  • Spring Break, Good Friday, Easter – Fri. Apr. 19 – Sun, Apr. 21, 2019
  • Mon. Apr. 22 - Fri. May 17, 2019
  • Mon. May. 20 - Fri. Jun. 14, 2019

Graduate Education in Biomedical Sciences – (PhD, MSBR, MSBmT, MSCR, MSMS, MSNS)

Fall Semester 2018 Academic Calendar

New Student Orientation (Welcome Session Fri., Aug. 3, 2018 - 8:30am)

Thurs. - Fri. Aug. 2-3, 2018

Fall 2018 Semester Classes begins (PhD, MSBR, MSBT continuing students)

Mon. Jul. 2, 2018

Fall 2018 Semester Classes begins (new & returning students)

Mon. Aug. 6, 2018

Add/Drop (PhD, MSBR, MSBmT continuing students)

Fri. Jul. 13, 2018

Add/Drop (new & returning students)

Mon. - Fri. Aug. 6 - 10, 2018

Application for Graduation Deadline (December 2018 Graduates)

Fri. Sept. 28, 2018

Labor Day Holiday

Mon. Sept. 3, 2018

Constitution Day

Mon. Sept. 17, 2018

Fall Convocation, White Coat and Pinning Ceremony

Fri. Sept. 21, 2018

Fall Break (1st Year students only)

Thurs. Oct. 11 – Fri. Oct. 12, 2018

Advisement Week

Mon. Oct. 29 – Fri. Nov. 9, 2018

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a “W” Grade

Mon. Oct. 29, 2018

Registration (Spring Semester 2019 – continuing students)

Mon. Nov. 5, 2018 – Fri. Jan. 5, 2019

Cross Registration/ ARCHE Deadline (Spring Semester 2019)

Mon. Nov. 12, 2018

Thanksgiving Break

Wed. Nov. 21 – Sun. Nov. 25, 2018

Absolute Completion Deadline (December 2018 Graduates)

Sat. Dec. 1, 2018

Last Day of Classes

Thurs. Dec. 6, 2018

Reading Day

Fri. Dec. 7, 2018

Application for Graduation Deadline (May 2019 Graduates)

Fri. Dec. 7, 2018

Final Exams

Mon. Dec. 10 – Fri. Dec. 14, 2018

Grade Posting Period (1st year (PhD, MSBR, MSBT), MSCR, MSMS, MSNS)

Sat. Dec. 11 – Fri. Dec. 21, 2018

Grade Posting Period (PhD, MSBR, MSBT- continuing students)

Sat. Dec. 11 – Mon. Dec. 31, 2018

December 2018 Conferral Degree Date

Dec. 31, 2018

Winter Break

Mon. Dec. 17, 2018 – Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

Spring Semester 2019 Academic Calendar

New Year’s Holidays

Mon. Dec. 31, 2018 and Tues. Jan. 1, 2019

Spring 2019 Semester Classes begins

Wed. Jan. 2, 2019

Drop/Add Period

Wed. - Fri. Jan. 2 - 4, 2019

M. L. King, Jr. Holiday

Mon. Jan. 21, 2019

Qualifying Exam Part I (MS students)

Thurs. – Fri. Jan. 24-25 & Mon. Jan. 28, 2019

Research Day

Wed. Feb. 13, 2019

Advisement (Fall 2019 Semester – continuing students)

Mon. Mar. 4 – Fri. Mar. 15, 2019

Registration (Fall 2019 Semester – continuing students)

Mon. Mar. 11 – Fri. Aug. 29, 2019

Spring Break (1st Year Students Only)

Mon. – Fri. Mar. 18 – 22, 2019

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a “W” Grade

Fri. Mar. 29, 2019

Good Friday Holiday

Fri. Apr. 19, 2019

Absolute Completion Deadline (PhD, MSBR, MSNS - May 2019 Graduates)

Wed. May 1, 2019

Last Day of Classes (MSCR, MSMS – May 2019 Graduates)

Fri. Apr. 26, 2019

Final Exams (MSMS, MSCR – May 2019 Graduates)

Mon. Apr. 29 – Thurs. May 2, 2019

Grade Posting (May 2019 Graduates)

Wed. May 1 – Sun. May 5, 2019

Last Day of Classes (MSBT, MSCR, MSMS - continuing students)

Fri. May 3, 2019

Final Exams (PhD, MSBR, MSBT, MSCR, MSMS, MSNS –

continuing students)

Mon. – Fri. May 6 – 10, 2019

Grade Posting Period (MSMS, MSCR, MSNS – continuing students)

Fri. May 10 – Fri. 17, 2019

Grade Posting Period (PhD, MSBR, MSBT – continuing students)

Fri. May 10 – Jun. 30, 2019

Class Day Program

Fri. May 17, 2019

Commencement

Sat. May 18, 2019

May 2019 Conferral Degree Date

May 18, 2019

Qualifying Exam Part I (PhD)

Thurs. – Fri. Jun. 6 - 7 & Mon. Jun. 10, 2019

Last Day of Classes (PhD, MSBR, MSBT - continuing students)

Sun. June 30, 2019


Graduate Education in Public Health (GEPH) Calendar – (MPH)

Fall Semester 2018 Academic Calendar

New Student Orientation (Welcome Session Fri., Aug. 3, 8:30am)

Wed. – Fri. Aug. 1 - 3, 2018

Fall 2018 Semester Classes begins

Mon. Aug. 6, 2018

Drop/Add Period

Mon. – Fri. Aug 6 – 10, 2018

Labor Day Holiday

Mon. Sept. 3, 2018

Constitution Day

Mon. Sept. 17, 2018

Fall Convocation, White Coat & Pinning Ceremony

Fri. Sept. 21, 2018

Study Period

Fri. Sept. 28, 2018

Mid-Semester Exams

Mon. - Fri. Oct. 1-5, 2018

Application for Graduation Deadline (December 2018 Graduates)

Fri. Oct. 19, 2018

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a “W” Grade

Fri. Oct. 26, 2018

Fall Break (MPH Students Only)

Mon. – Fri. Nov. 12 - 15, 2018

Registration (Spring 2019 Semester – continuing students)

Mon. Nov. 12 – Fri. Jan. 4, 2019

Cross Registration/ ARCHE Deadline (Spring Semester 2019)

Fri. Nov. 9, 2018

Thanksgiving Break

Thurs. – Sun. Nov. 22-25, 2018

Last Day of Classes and Study Period

Fri. Nov. 30, 2018

Final Exams

Mon. – Fri. Dec. 3 - 7, 2018

Culminating Experience Presentations

Fri. Dec. 7, 2018

Application for Graduation Deadline (May 2019 Graduates)

Fri. Dec. 7, 2018

Grades Due in the Registrar’s Office

Fri. Dec 7 – Fri. Dec 14, 2018

Fall 2018 Semester Ends

Fri. Dec 14, 2018

Winter Break

Sat. Dec. 15, 2018 – Tues. Jan 1, 2019

December 2018 Conferral Degree Date

Dec 31, 2018

Spring Semester 2019 Academic Calendar

New Year’s Holidays

Mon. Dec. 31, 2018 - Tues. Jan 1, 2019

Spring 2019 Semester Classes begins

Wed. Jan. 2, 2019

Drop/Add Period

Wed. – Fri. Jan. 2 - 4, 2019

M. L. King, Jr. Holiday

Mon. Jan. 21, 2019

Study Period

Fri. Feb. 22, 2019

Mid-Semester Exams

Mon. Feb. 25 – Fri. Mar. 1, 2019

Spring Break

Mon. – Fri. Mar. 4 - 8, 2019

Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a “W” Grade

Fri. Mar 22, 2019

Registration (Fall 2019 Semester – continuing students)

Mon. Apr. 9 – Fri. Aug. 9, 2019

Last Day of Classes

Thurs. Apr. 18, 2019

Good Friday Holiday

Fri. Apr. 19, 2019

Final Exams

Mon. – Fri. Apr. 22 – 26, 2019

Culminating Experience Presentation

Fri. Apr. 26 and/or Mon. Apr. 29, 2019

Completion date (May 2019 Graduates)

Wed. May 1, 2019

Grades Due in the Registrar’s Office

Thurs. May 2, 2019

Spring 2019 Semester Ends

Fri. May 3, 2019

Class Day Program

Fri. May 17, 2019

Commencement

Sat. May 18, 2019

Spring 2019 Conferral Degree Date

May 18, 2019